Production Project – Session 2

“microphone” by Ben McLeod is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

SUMMARY

Role: Sound Design

I helped the team with pre production stuff and I couldn’t help with production of the film because I was not present that week.

Intention (SMART Goal)

To learn about sound design and recording sound for films. I wanted to record sounds for our film and try to record dialogue too.

To record 3 sources of audio.

I wanted this to be my goal because I believe that this will help me in the future of this class. The sound design role seemed a bit overwhelming at first, but when I started to learn the process of recording I realized how simple the audio process was. I can realize if I met my goal if I can successfully record and import audio files.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

First Leader – Gary Rydstorm: xhttps://www.imdb.com/name/nm0003977/

Second Leader – Jack Foley: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jack_Foley_(sound_effects_artist)

Jack Foley was the person who invented post sfx in movies. He would watch the movie and make sounds live while recording.

Training Source(s)

“Introduction to Foley and Sound Effects for Film” by Filmmaker IQ

2:45- Explaining different types of sound design and effects.

5:30- Showing how sound and music can change a film and the audiences emotion.

9:27- How sound design has changed and what it used to be like.

10:13- Modern day design.

11:21- A common example of how people can make foley without a studio.

Project Timeline

Day 1:

Our team brainstormed ideas for our film and started a timeline.

Day 2:

Our team started to make the timeline and almost finished by the end of the day.

Day 3:

The team finishes and edit the timeline to what we think was realistic and possible. Also making our trello board.

Day 4:

Everyone researched and practiced their roles for production.

Day 5:

Finish pre-production and try to finish everything on the pre-production check list.

Proposed Budget

PRODUCTION – ACTION

The (FILM, SOUND, or GAME Creation)

Team 2 video: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1GBPSFAb1G_58agnoCkQbfFb4-K-IwFzZ/view?usp=sharing

Skills Commentary

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1UiMF7-HUZtupxE1XSFHqPu5mMp5EQsTYcEDmMJ-qAtI/edit?usp=sharing

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

One of the examples of problem solving is when I learned how to use the audio equipment when I had almost no time left to learn. I was critically thinking when I test our teams links to our slides and film. The links were private so I corrected the links accessibility.

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

Our team communicated and worked together on all parts of the film all the way through pre and production.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

The sound and audio equipment given to us to use, cameras, lights, light stands, tripods, and computers to work on.

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

I was a bit worried during production because I was not allowed to go to school for 4 days and I could not help with the film and production at all.

Reactions to the Final Version

One of the comments to the film was having good song/background noise and it made the film more suspenseful.

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

Looking back at the production, I would have tried to record and add ambience sound, dialogue, room tone, and maybe try to make my own music.

What I Learned and Problems I Solved

I learned how to use the audio devices provided, the best settings for recording, and importing the audio recorded.

Grammar and Spelling

Editor

Josh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *