Summer Production Project – Summer in Japan

SUMMARY

Role

Editor

Intention (SMART Goal)

My goal was to challenge myself to make a film that documented my trip to Japan, without having a plan going into it. Because I wasn’t sure what I would do on the trip, my film would have to rely on editing to create a narrative without any prior planning. I will know I have completed my goal once I am happy with the result of my ~1 minute film.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

Zak Saeed (experience of Japan)

Training Source(s)

Editing Checklist Packet
Based on:
This One Thing Will Make Your Editing Better (This Guy Edits)
5 Things Film Editors Literally Do – According To Science (This Guy Edits)

PRODUCTION – ACTION

The Film

Film Link

Skills Commentary

Once I gathered all of my photos and footage, taken from my iPhone and a Sony Handycam, I decided to replicate a vintage/home video style. The overlapping video clips is a simple but effective way to create this style. The piano playing was done by me and is a cover of Joe Hisaishi’s One Summer’s Day. This song inspired a lot of my process of making my film. For example the name and a few of the shots. The song was made for the movie Spirited Away (2001) and this was referenced in my film multiple times by showing a Ghibli store (studio that made the movie), and a picture of my tour watching the movie on the bus during the trip.

The clip of me playing the piano is a way to ground the audience through all the chaos of other footage appearing. The way I created the shot was by using a tripod on a ladder set on my bed.

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

Reactions to the Final Version

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *