Game Design – Week 8 – Logic, Flowcharts, and Coding

“Code” by mutednarayan is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0

SUMMARY

  • This week has been going by really fast and I have been thinking about what my first game should be about and how I am going to make it.

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

  • Set a timer
  • Spend up to 15 minutes in this ‘room’ on either ONE of the scripting languages below, Javascript or C#  (NOT BOTH)
  • The last lesson I completed in the 15 minute time span was the Printing text lesson in the Basic Concepts category. C#

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

Image from https://monkeyblogmonkeydo.com/2010/07/19/so-duh-pop-quiz-classic-video-game-flowchart-edition/
  • Write notes to help you remember the steps to creating a flowchart
    • Make sure the chart is either top to bottom or left to right
    • Connect steps with arrows in a certain direction
    • A square represents a process or action
    • A diamond represents a choice or decision
    • You can use a oval or terminator, or both, as the start and end point. You just have to make it clear which one is the start and end.
    • All the shapes should have their own colors but, the start and end shapes should have the same color

Mr. Le Duc’s Flowchart Shape Guide

More Flowchart Creation Resources

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

  • https://drive.google.com/file/d/1CuFruXJBAELUONOpGpHBK9POkE0S_AP6/view?usp=sharing

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

STUDIO (GAME DESIGN)

  • Set a timer
  • Spend up to 60 minutes in this ‘room’ on either ONE of the game engines below, (NOT BOTH)

PlayCanvas

Screenshot from Daniel Wood’s YouTube Channel Playlist

Unity

Screenshot from Unity.com

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • Today I learned a lot about cooking because me and my mom were making food for another family and she taught me a lot about how to cook spaghetti correctly. Yesterday my house had its flooring replaced and I had to figure out how to move all of my stuff out of my room and not have it interfere with the flooring people.

WEEKLY ACTIVITY EVALUATION

  • This weeks work caught me a bit off guard with the amount of it, but I got around it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *